Concerto III in D major, BWV 1054

  1. Allegro
  2. Adagio e piano sempre
  3. Allegro

Scoring: harpsichord solo, violin I/II, viola, continuo (cello, violone)

Length: c. 17 minutes

The surviving violin concerto in E major, BWV 1042 was the model for this work, which was transposed down a tone to allow the top note e”’ to be reached as d”’, the common top limit on harpsichords of the time. The transcription process was based on the same principles as BWV 1053.